Level 1 CFA® Exam Ethics Summary

CFA Exam: Level 1 / Ethics

Level 1 CFA Exam Ethics

CFA Exam: Level 1 Ethics

As a candidate in the level 1 CFA exam, you must know that each ethics standard is devoted to a separate area of the investment profession. The Standards cannot, however, be used selectively. They are closely interwoven and you need to see them as a whole. The CFA Institute code of ethics provides guidelines you should follow at any time and place.

CFA Institute Code of Ethics

CFA Institute Code of Ethics is a set of principles and moral rules agreed on and accepted by investment professionals.

There are six major principles included in the CFA Institute Code of Ethics that generally correspond to the following moral obligations:

  1. Act in a morally acceptable manner and to the best of your abilities in any of your professional relationships.
  2. Always place the good of your profession and of your clients first.
  3. Stay independent and exercise reasonable care in your professional activities.
  4. Practice in an ethical way that earns you an honest reputation and encourage others to do so.
  5. Promote the integrity of the market.
  6. Maintain and improve your competence and encourage others to do so.

Want the knowledge to stick?



CFA Exam Ethics Summary

to grasp the most important concepts



your personalized study plan

to help you minimize forgetting & maximize learning

CFA Exam: Ethics Summary Presentation

Below you can watch the summary of CFA exam Ethics created by our team. We hope you like it and find it useful. This summary was prepared to complement our Smart CFA Exam Study PLAN and can be used by candidates of all levels of the CFA exam.

The presentation is about the CFA Institute Code of Ethics & Standards of Professional Conduct and was prepared in Prezi.

Create FREE Study Plan Minimize forgetting & Maximize learning

Standards of Professional Conduct

When defining the Standards of Professional Conduct we might say that they provide comprehensive description of best practices and moral duties for investment professionals.

There are seven Standards. Each of them includes a number of sub-sections that specify acceptable ethical conduct and responsibilities applicable to particular profession-related situations.

Standard I: Professionalism

  • (A) Knowledge of the Law
  • (B) Independence and Objectivity
  • (C) Misrepresentation
  • (D) Misconduct

Standard II: Integrity of Capital Markets

  • (A) Material Nonpublic Information
  • (B) Market Manipulation

Standard III: Duties to Clients

  • (A) Loyalty, Prudence, and Care
  • (B) Fair Dealing
  • (C) Suitability
  • (D) Performance Presentation
  • (E) Preservation of Confidentiality

Standard IV: Duties to Employers

  • (A) Loyalty
  • (B) Additional Compensation Arrangements
  • (C) Responsibilities of Supervisor

Standard V: Investment Analysis, Recommendations, and Actions

  • (A) Diligence and Reasonable Basis
  • (B) Communication with Clients and Prospective Clients
  • (C) Record Retention

Standard VI: Conflicts of Interest

  • (A) Disclosure of Conflicts
  • (B) Priority of Transactions
  • (C) Referral Fees

Standard VII: Responsibilities as a CFA Institute Member or CFA Candidate

  • (A) Conduct as Members and Candidates in the CFA Program
  • (B) Reference to CFA Institute, the CFA Designation, and the CFA Program

Also see: Level 1 GIPS Standards

The general idea behind the Standards has not changed since their creation in 1960s. All members and candidates are obliged to obey by the provisions of the Code of Ethics and the Standards of Professional Conduct. Any violations may result in appropriate disciplinary sanctions including, but not limited to, the exclusion from the CFA Program or the revocation of the CFA designation.

Level 1 CFA Exam: Ethics Practice Questions

Take Free Level 1 Ethics Test Free Level 1 Ethics Test

(Note: To take the test, you need to register a free account first)

Posted in: 


Nice presentation but we should add some cases to be closer to the concepts