CFA Designation is More Than Just the 3 Letters

The What, Why & How of CFA Certification

What is CFA®

CFA stands for Chartered Financial Analyst® and it is awarded by CFA Institute. It is considered the golden standard of financial certification.

This prestigious designation is a proof of:

unparalleled financial knowledge, skills and competence,

ethical grounding in professional conduct,

integrity and commitment to clients.

What it means to earn CFA

CFA charterholders proudly add the 3 letters to their names.

CFA is a valid credential:

recognizable all over the world,

giving leverage to career development,

authenticating work experience and proficiency of practitioners in the finance industry.

'WHAT IS CFA?' Read a CFA Success Story of Someone Like You

How to get CFA

Only becoming a CFA charterholder authorizes the use of the CFA designation.

CFA certification can be awarded when you pass all the 3 levels of the CFA exam. Every level has its characteristics: CFA level 1 covers broad and voluminous material, CFA level 2 pays great attention to detail, while CFA level 3 puts emphasis on synthesis and evaluation and requires candidates to write essays.

CFA Institute affirms that candidates need about 300 hours of effective study for each level before they take a go. It means you need to reserve at least 900 hours to get through the 3 levels of your CFA exam and be able to earn your CFA designation. When you finally succeed in your exam, there is a number of other CFA requirements you have to meet before you can become a CFA charterholder.

To get your CFA certification, you need to:

devote your time and study hard,

commit yourself to high ethical standards,

fulfil all the CFA requirements.

It All Starts With Your CFA Study Plan


CONTROL your CFA calendar using WEEKLY study schedules

Why not become a CFA charterholder

Though there are some obstacles on the way to CFA certification, the 3 letters added to your name are definitely worth a struggle.

CFA certification:

links real-world practices and theoretical knowledge,

enhances your job and salary opportunities,

makes you a member of CFA society (if you want to join your peers).

How to Become a CFA Charterholder?

How to properly refer to CFA designation

Remember that the reference to the CFA Program and CFA designation require special attention. It is regulated by Standard VII (B) of CFA Institute Code of Ethics and Standards of Professional Conduct.

Watch our free video on Standard VII


Start With Your FREE Study Plan
Start With FREE Study Plan